Industar-69 Lens (28mm f2.8)

I purchased this oddity off Amazon for less than $30 USD. The package arrived neatly packaged in a stamped box from the Ukrain. Much is written about hacking this lens for use on mirror-less digital cameras by filing down a post. I had none of that —I just unscrewed the post and it works fine now as a closeup lens and sees to infinity. I’ll follow up with a few comments with it mounted to an Oly OMD EM-5, but for now I had fun with it on my screw-mount Bessa-L.

Bessa L with Industar 69

Industar 69, 28mm f2.8The Industar-69 was originally mounted to a Chaika (“Seagull”) half frame (18-24mm) camera by way of a 39-SM thread. On the larger framed Bessa-L, images are vignetted.  The Industar-69 is a Tessar lens variant, with 4 lenses in 3 groups.  Wide open it is soft as polenta and reminds me of cheapo Russian cameras like the Smena 8.

Screen Shot 2015-04-27 at 6.29.12 PM

Here’s some images. The indoor images were shot wide open at 2.8. The remaining images f5.6 to f16. I didn’t take any notes. I used Kodak 400 Portra film.

Indust69 (1) Indust69 (2) Indust69 (3) Indust69 (4) Indust69 (5) Indust69 (6) Indust69

Leave a Reply

