Camera Choices

I’ve shot well over 100 cameras, from Argus to Zorki and I’m narrowing down a few favorites. My list right now, in no particular order, as a day to day pick-up-and-go camera:

35mm Film:

  • Nikon F5, especially with the CV 40mm f2 or the Nikkor 45mm f2.8 pancake
  • Leica M2, with the 35mm f3.5 Summaron
  • Contax G-1, with the 45mm f2

Digital:

  • Oly OMD-EM5
  • Ricoh GR

Pocket Film or Digital:

  • Olympus XA2
  • Cosina CX5F
  • Fujifilm Natura Classica 35mm
  • Agat 18

Oddly, I have now owned two Fuji film 100’s  (including the T) and have sold both of them.  They are well-made and beautiful little cameras with intuitive controls, but I just don’t gravitate toward them. Lately, I grab the Nikon F5 tank and go. I’m really liking the Contax G-1 too.

Leave a Reply

